2022 New York Pro Preview — Who to Watch, How to Watch, and Full Rosters

Outside of the Olympia and Arnold Classic competitions, the New York Pro is one of bodybuilding’s most notable titles to win. Since 2005, 14 men have won this title. Among those winners are Mr. Olympia winners Phil Heath, Dexter Jackson, and Mamdouh "Big Ramy" Elssbiay. Jackson is the only man to have won the Olympia, Arnold Classic, and New York Pro titles.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Bev Francis Powerhouse Gym (@bevsgym)

The most recent champion was Nick "The Mutant" Walker, who won the contest in 2021 in Tampa, FL. He went on to win the Arnold Classic that same season, and he placed fifth in the 2021 Mr. Olympia, which Elssbiay won.

After two years in Florida due to the pandemic, the New York Pro is back in the Tri-State area. On Saturday, May 21, 2022, the contest will take place at the Marriott at Glenpointe in Teaneck, NJ, and host nine IFBB Pro League divisions: Men’s Open, Men’s Physique, 212, Women’s Bodybuilding, Figure, Women’s Physique, Bikini, and Wellness.

None of the prior Men’s Open winners are making a return, so fans are guaranteed a 15th NY Pro champion. The list of Men’s Open competitors is below in alphabetical order.

2022 New York Pro Men’s Open Roster

  • Blessing Awodibu
  • Paul Baker
  • Slavoj Bednar
  • Maxx Charles
  • Ross Flanigan
  • Douglas Fruchey
  • Dorian Haywood
  • Peter Klancir
  • Theo Leguerrier
  • Bruce Nolte
  • Emir Omeragic
  • Andrea Presti
  • Justin Rodriguez
  • Joji Sekine
  • Marius Tomczuk
  1. 2022 New York Pro Men’s Open Roster
  • Men’s Open Favorites — Awodibu, Rodriguez, Charles
  • Other Divisions
    1. 212 Bodybuilding
    2. Classic Physique
    3. Men’s Physique
    4. Women’s Bodybuilding
    5. Women’s Physique
    6. Figure
    7. Bikini
    8. Wellness
  • How to Watch the New York Pro
  • Men’s Open Favorites — Awodibu, Rodriguez, Charles

    Awodibu is coming off his first professional victory at the 2022 Indy Pro, where he beat many of the contenders in this show already. He placed sixth in the 2021 New York Pro, but his showing in Indianapolis confirms that Awodibu is a bigger and better bodybuilder

    Specifically, he brought an improved lower body and a broader, more detailed back to the stage. Riding a big win, Awodibu is a favorite to snag the W at the NY Pro. And since his victory at the Indy Pro earned him a spot at the 2022 Olympia, he’ll be playing defense — hoping to win and prevent another unqualified competitor from contending in Vegas. 


    View this post on Instagram


    A post shared by blessing #theboogieman awodibu (@blessing_awodibu)

    Rodriguez’s accomplishments should make him a favorite to win his first New York Pro. He came second to Walker at the 2021 NY Pro. With Walker out and Awodibu having placed sixth last year, Rodriguez must feel confident as he packs his gym bag for The Garden State.

    However, it’s important to note that this will be the fourth time Rodriguez has competed in less than three months. He placed fifth to champion Brandon Curry at the 2022 Arnold Classic, second to William Bonac at the 2022 Boston Pro, and fourth in Indianapolis one week before this contest. He’ll be primed to go delt-to-delt with Awodibu during their rematch if he can show peak definition. 

    Then there’s Maxx Charles, who has been hunting for a win over the last couple of seasons. He hasn’t been able to seal the deal with a win, so it’s easy for folks to write him off in 2022.  But don’t get it twisted. His third-place effort in Indianapolis proves that Charles — who boasts arm mass any competitor at any level would envy — can still hang with the best in the field.

    A few dark horses include 2021 Mr. Big Evolution winner Andrea Presti, Emir Omeragic, and Theo Leguerrier.

    Other Divisions

    There are currently 117 athletes scheduled to compete across all nine divisions at the New York Pro. The most competitive division could be the Bikini contest.

    View this post on Instagram


    A post shared by SADIK HADZOVIC (@sadikhadzovic)

    Two former Olympia champions, Janet Layug and Elisa Pecini, as well as Bikini International titleholders Lauralie Chapados and India Paulino, are in the lineup. Figure Olympia champion Erin Stern is also in the mix for the Bikini title.

    Also worth noting is the return of Sadik Hadzovic to the Men’s Physique division. Hadzovic hasn’t competed since 2019 when he placed sixth in the Men’s Physique division. 

    The full rosters of competitors in the remaining divisions are below.

    212 Bodybuilding

    • Noel Adame
    • Abdullah Alsaif
    • Steve Benthin
    • Pater Castella
    • Arturo Cotto
    • Yumon Eaton
    • Asante Gibson
    • Michael Giliotti
    • Sung Yeop Jang
    • Derik Oslan
    • David Robinson
    • Enmanuel Rodriguez

    Classic Physique

    • Dancovea Anderson
    • Paul Baker
    • Maurice Burgess
    • Tommy Clark
    • Luis Colon
    • Neil Currey
    • Camilo Diaz
    • Jeong Hyun Kim
    • Kenneth Silcott
    • Derrick Simmons
    • Ruben Stouth
    • Anthony Venterosa
    • Alexander Westormeier
    • Junyoung Yoon

    Men’s Physique

    • Chidube Anene
    • Bryan Blackman
    • Riccardo Croci
    • Daniele D’Onofrio
    • Sadik Hadzovic
    • Brett Mario Jackson Jr.
    • Minsu Kim
    • Burak King
    • Jeremiah Maxey
    • Kelvin Morel
    • Bruce Nolte
    • Geobanny Paula
    • Kenny Privet
    • Ramses Rams
    • Mark Robinson
    • Steven Rogers
    • Adrian Thomas
    • Damar Turner

    Women’s Bodybuilding

    • Saqweta Barrino
    • Michelle Brent
    • Gisela Nunes Chan
    • Stephanie Flesher
    • Michelle Jin
    • Keisha Oliver
    • Pauline Nelson
    • Donna Salib
    • Wendy Sanchez

    Women’s Physique

    • Idaliz Alvarez
    • Natalia Abraham Coelho
    • Ji Hye Lee
    • Kristyn Lia
    • Angela Noury
    • Amanda Peles
    • Renee Reifschlager
    • Heidi Worrell-Osborne


    • Jossie Nathali Alarcon Becerra
    • Desmone Black-Thompson
    • Sh’Nere Mattise Deas
    • Eda Greene
    • Mandy Harbin
    • Courtney Jacobs
    • Yelena Larina
    • Tereza Linhartova
    • Georgina Lona
    • Nanci Lorzano
    • Ericka M. Morgan
    • Jennifer Nazem
    • Larissa Penaloza
    • Christina Rosa
    • Ashley Soden


    • Lauralie Chapados
    • Sara Choi
    • Jessica Nicole Dolias
    • Liana Giannamoore
    • Karene Gonzalez
    • Elizabeth Jansen
    • Tae Rin Kim
    • Janet Layug
    • Liana Martinez
    • Ruth E. Montes
    • Cristina Pacilio
    • India Paulino
    • Elisa Pecini
    • Thirza Quintana
    • Lexus Redmond
    • Kerri Jeanna Simas
    • Erin Stern
    • Francesca Stoico
    • Nadia Szymanowicz
    • Allison Testu


    • Sunny Andrews
    • Madison Luna
    • Jasmine Payne
    • Judian Winston
    • Rafaelle Zen

    How to Watch the New York Pro

    There will be a pay-per-view livestream available for fans that aren’t able to attend so they can watch all the action live on May 21st, 2022. The stream costs $25.99, and it can be purchased on the NPC Northeast website.

    Featured Image: @blessing_awodibu and @sadikhadzovic on Instagram

    ►Te puede interesar...

    Deja una respuesta

    Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *